Sooners National Signing Day

Posted on February 1, 2012

0



So, that was the madness that was National Signing Day. I will be honest with you, it’s not something I have ever really watched or being that interested in before, but as I try and fill the off-season and recruitment (with all the coaching changes) was a big mystery filled with many changes in the last few weeks, it was rather a fun day.

Firstly, I have to say a huge thank you and full props to SoonerSports.com for their live webcast of the day, interviews with coaches and new Sooners, analysis and stories. I unfortunately couldn’t watch for long due to work commitments, but what I saw was invaluable for those learning about the kind of young men we have signed. They really are leaders in this field and I have said it before, and will many times again, they really are a lifeline to fans like me who are not based near the Sooner hub.

I managed to catch the Jay Norvell interview, where he obviously talked about this WR group coming in. He instantly comes across as someone I could listen to for hours as he genuinely portrays a huge amount of passion and enthusiasm towards the players and the Oklahoma Sooners. As a WR, I know it would never happen but I reckon with just 20-30 minutes tuition from Coach Norvell, I could learn more than I probably have done in several years playing the game. He did touch on the social media side of recruitment and seemed quite open for it, obviously seeing the effect of the “recruitment consultants” inJeffersonand Stills having a positive effect on recruitment. Also players are forming a stronger bond before they even set foot on campus as a Sooner player. I happen to notice the swag also, that watch he wore was pretty sweet!

Now for the actual signing class itself. Have we ever had such a diverse group of players from all over America? With only 7 from Texasand 3 local kids from Oklahoma, the rest of the class span from East to West. The Cali Trio have really started something, with that pipeline bringing in 3 more players.Florida has also being good to us in this class with 4 players. WR Courtney Gardner the furthest recruit, 1262 miles to Norman from Reno, Nevada. WR Sterling Shepard is making the mammoth 17.5 mile trip from Oklahoma City.

The average distance for recruits is 672 miles from Norman, showing this class to be coming in from much further afield than the usual hotbed of Texas recruits. This is probably going to be a trend that continues as Stoops and Co get some frequent flyer miles to visit corners previously untapped. Oklahoma is a Powerhouse for Football, with the National appeal to win National Championships. Coach Norvell also touched on this that players from California and Maryland know and rave about the traditions of Sooner Football.  

One of the most telling stories from the day for me was Durron Neal. Did you all check out the time he faxed his LOI in? 07:01am. That’s right, pretty much as soon as he could. Did the guy get any sleep last night? That my friends tells me everything I need to know about him. The desire, the hunger and the want to be a Sooner is there. As they all could be, they all could be special. But he is making all the right noises right now, and I love them who are excited to be Sooners!

And finally, I was sure that Dorial Green-Beckham was not coming to us. As a person and as a fan I can respect that. Norman, Oklahoma is not for everyone and for me; I want them players that are hungry to be Sooners, who grew up wanting to play in the Crimson and the Cream. If he has also stayed at home to be close to his family and his brother as he fights with leukaemia, then I hope everyone can support the young man and his decision, and not become one of them fans that we all hate, trashing young kids for making a decision.

And really finally, I haven’t had much chance to catch up on it all now, so hopefully get a more detailed blog out at some point this week, these were just my initial thoughts. And my feelings on the class as a whole? I like what we have. I think we have some fantastic O-Line coming in and some big time receivers. Let them do some work and lets get back to what we do best, winning Big XII Championships and playing (and winning) National Championships!