Coming back to Oklahoma

Posted on January 5, 2014

0



That’s right, the next installment of my travels to Oklahoma is booked and closer than you think. I love Sooner Football and try to plan my trips around watching them, but with some vacation to take before April I thought it was about time to come across again, and support some other Sooner Sports that I enjoy. The flights are booked, planning is happening but I will be back in the Sooner State on Feb 21st and leaving on 3rd March. As usual, plan to see lots of sport and spend time with friends.

Sooner Women’s Gymnastics

These ladies are probably the hardest working team on campus. Some of the things they can do are gravity defying and leave you speechless and in amazement. They have also been so accommodating on my previous visits over, inviting me to practice and making some friends along the way. KJ, Tom and Lou are terrific coaches and will really have these ladies ready for another Big XII Championship and a run at the National Title. My flight gets in at 6:05pm on the Friday 21st Feb, they kick off at 7pm in Oklahoma City, nothing like cutting it fine! They compete in the Perfect 10 Challenge and facing some talented teams in Alabama, Michigan and West Virginia. The second meet going to head to, at the Lloyd Noble Centre on Friday 28th Feb to face Illinois.

Come support the Oklahoma Sooners Women's Gymnastics Team - yOU will be amazed

Come support the Oklahoma Sooners Women’s Gymnastics Team – yOU will be amazed

That home meet vs Illinois I really want the Sooner fans to get out and show some love to this team. Pretty sure I’m going to buy some extra tickets and do a give-a-way or something as I know this team appreciates everyone coming down to support!

Sooner Men’s Basketball

I use to love Basketball and playing, again unfortunately in England it’s not a huge sport and I didn’t get to play until I was about 15 (and stopped growing). Lon Kruger has the team playing some inspired basketball, and right in the crunch time of Big XII play, no better time to get my first basketball games in at the Lloyd Noble. On Saturday 22nd Feb Kansas State come into town and then on March 1st, it’s a big one, Texas! Now I’ve seen Football beat Texas, the boys beat them at Texas last night so looking forward to seeing more longhorns crying!

#BeatTexas

#BeatTexas

The only other game on this trip, away to Kansas on Monday 24th. Now I have heard that is one amazing place to go see a College Hoops game. Obviously this would be a once in a lifetime kind of thing, but getting tickets might be rather hard. So if anyone is planning a trip and might know where to find a golden ticket, I’m game for a road trip!

Sooner Women’s Basketball

I hear the Sooner Ladies pull quite a crowd and rock out the LNC! Have been fortunate to meet Sherri Coale on the field at a Football game, so looking forward to seeing what she and the team can do in Big XII play.  Unfortunately that only have 1 home game which follows the Men on the Saturday 22nd and play Kansas. With away games at Baylor and TCU also happening on the trip, hope to at least get to see some of them on the TV.

UNHUIFYBNKOZTGZ.20131215225202

Oklahoma City Thunder

You all know I love my Sooners, and that comes first. But it would be rude for me to come to town and not see the Thunder play in the regular season. I got to see a pre-season game last time and with 3 or 4 games happening on the trip, I aim to be there and catching the games! Blake Griffin brings his Clippers to town so I would love to get to see him in town so that’s the game I’m most looking forward to! It’s all about the Sooners. There also games vs Cleveland, Memphis (Will be at Women’s Gymnastics tho) and Charlotte.

So that’s the trip, sporting wise in a nutshell!

