Know yOUr Sooner Olympians – Jared Frayer

Posted on July 18, 2012

0



Onto my 3rd get to know our Sooner Olympians takes us to a sport that I unfortunately have not had many dealings with, Freestyle Wrestling. Frayer wrestled for OU from 1999-2002 and is now a current assistant coach here in Oklahoma, after spells at Harvard, Iowa and Wisconsin. Whilst wrestling at OU, Frayer was a two-time All-American and the 2002 NCAA runner-up at 149 pounds, whilst helping Oklahoma claim the Big XII title that year.

At the age of 33 Jared will be going to his first Olympic Games after winning the 66kg/145.5 pound title in the recent Olympic Trials at the Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa. Frayer had to beat another Sooner along the way, Teyon Ware (2003-2006) in the semi finals. After finishing second in U.S Team Trials in 2009 and 2010, he defeated former Hawkeye Brent Metcalf in the final to book his place to London. “This year I am a year older and wiser and did things right; listened to my body,” Frayer said. “I want to be the best coach in the country, the best recruiter, the best father, the best son, and now I get to represent the United States and go win a gold medal.”

Frayer has had a longer career than most in a sport most abandon after high school. In the 2008 Olympic Trials he finished fourth and almost ended his wrestling career, not knowing if he could juggle the physical and financial demands to get to London, all whilst starting a family. On the motivation to keep going, Frayer said. “It had been knocked down so many times before. But I knew I had to keep going, keep trying. I keep having to replay everything in my head because it doesn’t seem real. It’s going to take a while for all of this to really sink in.”

In another dramatic twist, during the Olympics, his wife Nicole is due to give birth to their second child around the 7th August. Frayer may have to use modern technologies and watch the birth on Skype. “That was probably bad planning on our part,” Frayer said. “But my wife wouldn’t want me to be anywhere else. My dream has finally come to fruition. I’m truly blessed.” Frayer took 2011 from international competition after the birth of his daughter, Khloe, who has Down Syndrome. “My daughter struggles throughout her life,” Frayer said. “She helps put things into perspective. Sure, in the grand scheme of things,it’s nice to be able to make the Olympics and the trials you have to go through help build character. But it’s nothing compared to what she has to go through.”

Lets hope he can come to London, win that Gold Medal and maybe Nicole can hold on a little longer so he can get back in time to welcome his second child into the world. Frayer is pretty active on twitter @AirFrayer and has over 2,000 followers. So get behind Jared and all OUr fellow Sooner Olympians in London!

